

The Rt Hon Simon Clarke MP Chief Secretary to the Treasury HM Treasury 1 Horse Guards Road London SW1A 2HQ

26th October 2021

Dear Chief Secretary,

NHS dentistry funding

We are writing following the joint letter the Chancellor received from the Chair of Healthwatch England Sir Robert Francis QC and the Chair of the British Dental Association Eddie Crouch last week to echo their concerns about the current state and the future of NHS dentistry.

Dentistry is now the number one issue raised with Healthwatch and our own mailbags can attest that lack of access to dental services is a problem felt in every corner of the country. Over 30 million NHS dental appointments have been lost due to the pandemic, with Healthwatch England and the BDA warning that this eye-watering backlog is not just causing huge difficulties in patients accessing timely care, but will deepen health inequalities too.

In past years, NHS dental budgets have failed to keep up with inflation and population growth. We understand none of the additional £5.4 billion announced last month to help tackle COVID-19 backlogs will be used to support our badly hit dental services. As NHS dentistry faces this unprecedented challenge, it is crucial that resources are in place to ensure the recovery, underpin promised reform, and guarantee the long-term sustainability of the service our constituents rely on.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Sir Peter Bottomley MP

Peller Bottomley

Debbie Abrahams MP
Peter Aldous MP
Apsana Begum MP
Paula Barker MP
Paul Blomfield MP
Ben Bradshaw MP
Sarah Champion MP
Daisy Cooper MP
Rosie Cooper MP

Yvette Cooper MP

Judith Cummins MP
Philip Davies MP
Marsha de Cordova MP
Peter Dowd MP
Rosie Duffield MP
Tim Farron MP
Andrew Gwynne MP
Emma Hardy MP
Harriet Harman MP

Wera Hobhouse MP Dame Diana Johnson MP

Kim Johnson MP Darren Jones MP Barbara Keeley MP Kim Leadbeater MP Clive Lewis MP

Rebecca Long-Bailey MP Caroline Lucas MP

Steve McCabe MP Andy McDonald MP John McDonnell MP Esther McVey MP Layla Moran MP

Anne Marie Morris MP Rachael Maskell MP Dan Poulter MP Virendra Sharma MP Derek Twigg MP

David Warburton MP
Mohammad Yasin MP

Valerie Vaz MP Martin Vickers MP

CC Sajid Javid MP, Secretary of State for Health and Social Care
Maria Caulfield MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary for Patient Safety and Primary Care
Jeremy Hunt MP, Chair of the Health and Social Care Committee